Brian McCrory, president of the Irish League of Credit Unions, has succeeded Daniel Burns as chairman of the World Council of Credit Unions board of directors.

McCrory formally took office during WOCCU’s annual general meeting held on July 24 in Vienna, Austria.

Kevin Sitka, president & CEO at Assiniboine Credit Union, Winnipeg, Canada and director of Canadian Credit Union Association; and Dallas Bergl, president and CEO of the $336 million INOVA FCU of Elkhart, Ind., were also named as new WOCCI directors at the annual general meeting.

“We are here trying to enhance cooperation among cooperatives,” said McCrory in a statement. “It is through these collaborations, not based on self-interest, but based on mutual interest we can capture, foster and enable cooperation on a global basis for our members, and our members’ members.”

2017–2018 World Council board of directors
2017–2018 World Council board of directors

McCrory added that “we exist in the ecosystem of the financial services market, yet our DNA is very different so we must redouble our efforts to educate others. We ask our regulators to regulate not what we do but how we do it.”

WOCCU’s 2017-2018 executive committee comprises: chair, Brian McCrory; vice chair, Steve Stapp (president of the $1.1 billion Unitus Community CU, Portland, Ore.); treasurer, Diana Dykstra (president/CEO of the California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues); and chair of the governance and elections committee, Rafal Matusiak of Poland.

Subscribe Now

Authoritative analysis and perspective for every segment of the credit union industry

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.