© 2020 Arizent. All rights reserved.

CUNA names national award winners

Register now

The Credit Union National Association on Friday said its National Awards Committee has selected the 2018 recipients of the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award and the Desjardins Awards for Financial Education.

The awards, which are given in several asset sizes, were selected from the winning entries at a league level.

“Congratulations to the 2018 CUNA Award winners who provide exceptional member service and exude the credit union philosophy to help better people’s lives. We are proud to honor the recipients for their commitment to their communities,” Jim Nussle, CUNA’s president and CEO, said in a statement.

Winning credit unions will be recognized at CUNA’s 2019 Governmental Affairs Conference, March 10-14 in Washington, D.C.

The Dora Maxwell Award is presented to credit unions for outstanding social responsibility projects in their communities.

First-place winners for the Dora Maxwell Award are:

· $45 million-asset Limestone Federal Credit Union, Manistique, Mich.
· $136 million Sunwest Educational CU, Pueblo, Colo.
· $290 million East Idaho CU, Idaho Falls, Idaho
· $1.3 billion Georgia United CU, Duluth, Ga.
· The Indiana Credit Union League and Indiana credit unions

The Louise Herring Award is given to a credit union demonstrating the internal application of credit union philosophy to help better financial matters and increase financial education for its members.

First-place winners for the Louise Herring Award are:

· $19 million Los Alamos Schools CU, Los Alamos, N.M.
· $70 million Peoples Advantage FCU, Petersburg, Va.
· $786 million Kirtland FCU, Albuquerque, N.M.
· $2.2 billion Nusenda CU, Albuquerque, N.M.

The Desjardins Awards honor credit unions, chapters and leagues for their commitment to both youth and adult financial literacy.

First-place winners for the Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award are:

· $39 million Delta Schools FCU, Antioch, Calif.
· $104 million CORE Federal Credit Union, East Syracuse, N.Y.
· $259 million Education CU, Amarillo, Texas
· $3.7 billion SEFCU, Albany, N.Y.

First-place winners for the Desjardins Adult Financial Education Award are:

· $26 million UNO Federal Credit Union, New Orleans
· $167 million Electro Savings CU, St. Louis
· $557 million Financial Center First CU, Indianapolis, Ind.
· $1 billion San Mateo CU, Redwood City, Calif.

CUNA said the Maine Credit Union League also received a first-place award for its efforts to improve financial literacy for both youth and adults.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.